Astrology and Relationships

Astrology and Relationships

Astrology is a valuable tool for fostering healthy relationships, especially intimate and romantic relationships. In astrology, relationship analysis is known as synastry.

While it takes time to get to know your prospective mate, astrology and natal charts can prove helpful in offering insight into the person’s personality and individuality. These insights into yourself and others can lead to stronger relationships.

Someone’s personality and individuality shapes how they make decisions and their lives; astrology can illuminate an individual’s emotions, romantic and sexual desires, and even communication skills.

Natal charts provide information about the planets and their energies, and the significance of astrological signs, houses, and aspects. Astrological aspects in particular are fundamentally important for synastry. Below are some important factors provided in natal charts that may prove significant for romantic relationships.

Sun Sign

Sun signs are important because they reveal an individual’s conscious will and how he or she navigates through life.

Sun sign combinations are naturally harmonious. Generally there is an easy rapport between Sun signs of the same Element. In Western astrology, there are four basic elements: Earth, Water, Air, and Fire.

  • Earth signs include Taurus, Virgo, and Capricorn.
  • Water signs include Cancer, Scorpio, and Pisces.
  • Air signs include Gemini, Libra, and Aquarius.
  • Fire signs include Aries, Leo, and Sagittarius.

Sign Aspects

Signs of the same element are naturally harmonious. When planets and points unite (within the chart or Wheel) and combine their energies, it is known as conjunction. Astrologists disagree about the number of degrees that constitute a conjunction, although most agree that if two or more planets or points are within ten degrees of each other they are in conjunction. Closer planets will produce more of a symbiotic effect.

After the “conjunction” (0 degrees), the most harmonious aspect is the “trine” aspect (signs located 120-degrees apart). Trines are supportive and accepting of one another. Relationships built upon “trine” Sun Signs are usually very harmonious (unless other aspects in the chart override the Sun Sign).

After “trine,” the next most harmonious aspect is “sextile,” when signs are located 60 degrees apart. This aspect denotes the potential for relationship harmony, despite some apparent differences. There are two categories of sextiles: tangible signs and intangible signs.

  • Tangible signs: Earth and Water
  • Intangible signs: Air and Fire

 After “trines” come the hard aspects that can make relationships into a difficult yet worthwhile challenge.

These relationships have both passion and intensity, yet also many challenges in the form of disagreements, drama, arguments, etc. Such difficulties can be overwhelming and may create exhausted frustration, so that the relationship dissolves just as fast as it started.

The most difficult aspect is the “square,” denoting a 90 degree separation between signs. The “square” aspect creates tension between the planets and points involved. Although some tension is necessary to stimulate action, too much tension leads to into stress. Relationships with a “square” aspect may run into countless obstacles and challenges before making the necessary compromises and adjustments.

After the “square,” “opposition” is the next most difficult aspect in synastry. Opposition indicates a 180-degree separation between signs and is created by halving the Wheel (or circle or Zodiac). Although there is tension involved with the “opposition,” opposites do attract. Folks with “oppositions” seek out others, as if to mirror or reflect their own inner or internal struggles. They learn about themselves through their interactions with others. When oppositions are used correctly, people are more willing to consider the other side. This can improve negotiation skills.

Sign Qualities

There are three categories of “qualities” in Western astrology: Cardinal signs, Fixed signs, and Mutable signs.

  • Cardinal signs: Aries, Cancer, Libra, and Capricorn
  • Fixed signs: Taurus, Leo, Scorpio, and Aquarius
  • Mutable signs: Gemini, Virgo, Sagittarius, and Pisces

Now, for your astrological edification:

CARDINAL: Also known as movable signs, they stand for the seasonal changes, marking the four quarters of the year. They are related in some way to activity, to expressing oneself through enthusiastic and considered action. Ambition is a motivating force, and there is little delay in seeking to fulfill it. The driving force of Cardinal signs is strong and can result in selfishness and dominating rivals.

FIXED: Fixed signs tend to be strong, stubborn, determined, controlling, loyal, and reliable. They make for calm individuals, single-minded, determined, composed and self-contained. Recognizing their goals, those with an emphasis on fixed signs in their horoscope advance steadily, sometimes stubbornly, towards them. They are, in their own eyes, always right.

MUTABLE: Mutable signs produce adaptable folk who are flexible enough to change with the prevailing wind, if they see that change to be to their advantage. They are versatile and resourceful, sympathetic and grateful for assistance. Diplomatic, they are generally liked, though susceptible to duplicity.

Ideal Pairings

The six Zodialogical relationships or pairings that traditionally make the most ideal unions are:

  • Aries (Fire) and Libra (Air)
  • Taurus (Earth) and Scorpio (Water)
  • Gemini (Air) and Sagittarius (Fire)
  • Cancer (Water) and Capricorn (Earth)
  • Leo (Fire) and Aquarius (Air)
  • Virgo (Earth) and Pisces (Water)