Here’s Why Dherbs Uses Vegetarian-Based Capsules

Here’s Why Dherbs Uses Vegetarian-Based Capsules

Supplements have become commonplace in modern day society. From vitamins and minerals to herbal and DIY supplements, a lot of concern is placed on the composition of the capsules themselves. The health and quality of capsules are of equal importance to the ingredients within. Capsules dissolve quickly, they are tasteless, and people have an easier time swallowing them, when compared to other pills or tablets. Capsules offer their advantages, but one must understand the difference between vegetarian and gelatin capsules.

Gelatin Capsules:

Gelatin and vegetarian-based capsules look the same, but the notable difference is what each capsule is made of. Gelatin comes from bovine (cattle) or pigs, and the process involves boiling down certain parts of the animal until it is a gel-like consistency. This gel cools and expands when mixed with cold water. The resulting product is an odorless, tasteless gel capsule that most companies use to encapsulate their herbs, powders, and other supplements.

Vegetarian Capsules:

For people who have a sensitivity or difficulty digesting gelatin, vegetarian capsules are the perfect option. They are also the optimal choice for those with dietary, religious, or cultural restrictions, and they are better suited for herbs, powders, supplements, and vitamins. Vegetarian capsules are made from forming vegetable cellulose, the most common of which is Hydroxpropyl methyl cellulose (HPMC). The source of HPMC will depend on what the company uses when committing to vegetarian capsules.

What Dherbs Capsules Are Made Of:

The reason Dherbs uses vegetarian capsules is because they contain no animal byproducts, and there are no known potential risks of taking them in a long-term scenario. Dherbs’ capsules are 100% natural and non-toxic and can be stored for up to three years in a cool, dry place without the risk of bacterial growth, when compared to traditional tablets. The capsules themselves are manufactured from the following materials:

  • Hydroxpropyl methyl cellulose
  • Purified water
  • Carrageenan
  • Potassium chloride

Dherbs Capsule Allergen And Gluten Statement:

For the empty hard shell vegetarian capsules that Dherbs uses, there are no raw materials, including additives, that are used during the production process. No raw materials that are listed as allergens in EU Directive 2000/13/EC or its amendments that have their origin in cereals, crustaceans, peanuts, gluten, eggs, fish, soybeans, milk, nuts, celery, sesame seeds, mollusks, wheat, mustard, corn and/or lupin are in the capsules. The capsules are also free of sulfur dioxide or sulfites at concentrations of more than 100 ppm. The vegetable capsules that Dherbs uses are free of the specified known allergy stimulating substances.

Dherbs Non-GMO Declaration:

Dherbs’ vegetable capsules are guaranteed not to contain GMOs (genetically modified organisms) as defined by the EU “Organic” Regulation 2093/91 and UKROFS, the Soil Association Standards for Organic Food and Farming (new Section 2.4) prohibit the use of genetically modified organisms* (GMOs) and products derived from them in organic production systems and organic products. These capsules are not derived from or produced using GMOs or their derivatives, and the capsules never come in contact with any genetically modified substances.

2019-06-17T09:51:19-07:00