The promotion and selling of vegetarian items at fast food restaurants is misleading until the vegetarian items are completely lacking animal byproducts. Unless the restaurant is exclusively vegetarian or vegan, it cannot assure that its products do not contain traces of animal products.
Unfortunately, many people are misled by some restaurants that claim they have vegetarian dishes. Even though the ingredients in the dish may be 100% vegetarian, it is very likely that the food will contain some sort of trace of animal product. Butter is a major offender, as restaurants usually finish steamed veggies with it.
Some people thought they were avoiding animal by-products by only eating French fries, not knowing that most fast food restaurants such as McDonald’s were cooking their fries in vegetable oil mixed with beef juice. McDonald’s restaurants add beef juice to its cooking oil for flavor, in addition to spraying the fires with a sugar solution, freezing them and shipping them off to McDonald’s franchises, and after cooking the sugar sprayed fries in beef juice (oil), sodium chloride (salt) is added.
In order to be assured that your meal is 100% vegetarian, we suggest that you visit an exclusively vegetarian restaurant that does not carry any meat products. Due to the quick service at a fast food restaurant, it is very difficult for these types of establishments to accommodate a strict vegetarian diet. With little space and attention to detail, vegetarians often find that their food is cross-contaminated when cooked at a fast food restaurant.
If you’re having trouble locating vegan eateries please check out our Vegan Diet section Vegan Diet
If you’re in the Greater Los Angeles area, click here for a listing of vegan (and vegetarian) restaurants. Directory
Eating healthy is a journey, discipline, and lifestyle and does not come without challenges in the early stages. However, as you become more health conscious, you’ll discover more healthy places to eat at while out on the town.
Thank you for reading.