Dairy products are defined as the food produced from the milk of mammals.
Dairy products include, but are not limited to:
- Sour cream
- Ice cream
- Kefir, and
Dairy by-products are whey, caseins, dried milk solids, etc.
Please be aware of dairy free cheese products that contain casein (milk protein), which is dairy. If you are trying to abstain from consuming dairy-free cheese, make sure that it says “vegan” on the package. These dairy free alternatives are meant to help you make the transition to a dairy-free lifestyle.
Being lactose intolerant means that your body cannot properly digest lactose, a natural sugar found in milk and dairy products.
Those who are lactose intolerant may experience uncomfortable symptoms such as gas, bloating, and belly pain. Some people with lactose intolerance cannot digest any milk products while others can eat or drink small amounts of dairy and feel just fine.
Lactose intolerance is most common in adults but usually begins to develop during the late teen or early adult years.
There are many myths associated with dairy products and their alleged health benefits. One of these grand myths pertains to milk – animal milk, specifically cow and goat milk.
Milk by definition is a protein, a complete food for babies, and in the case of cow milk, baby cows.
Every animal in the wild nurtures its young with the mother’s own milk. The only exception is the human being. Humans are the only animal that willingly consumes the milk of other mammals. Milk is a foreign substance to the human body. Our digestive systems are not designed to properly digest the milk of other mammals.
Our “Alternative Diet and Lifestyle Manual” manual (e-book) Alternative Diet and Lifestyle Manual lists many companies and their website addresses that sell alternative dairy products or dairy free products to help those who want to adopt the vegetarian or vegan lifestyle.
You’ll find all kinds of dairy-free products, from butter, yogurt, whip cream, sour cream, cheese, and ice cream on the shelves of health food stores across the U.S. These products are generally made from soy, rice, almonds and other nuts, seeds, and grains.
Thank you for reading !